Nirvanating Nervesounds

by Little Free Rock

supported by
Olivar Grandø
Olivar Grandø thumbnail
Olivar Grandø Such a great record. Fantastic guitars. Love the sound. Favorite track: Big Bird.
paul rote
paul rote thumbnail
paul rote All songs written and recorded between 1969 and 1971 !
THOSE WERE THE DAYS ! Favorite track: Roman Summer Nights.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      €7 EUR  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Remastered sound.

    4-page insert with detailed liner notes by Nigel Cross (Shagrat Records) and Klemen Breznikar (It’s Psychedelic Baby) plus rare photos.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Nirvanating Nervesounds via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      €22 EUR


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 60 Guerssen Records releases available on Bandcamp and save 35%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Epitaph for Venus, Flieg, Slights Still Unspoken (Selected Recordings 1978-1979), Israel Suite / Dominante En Bleu, Airto Fogo, Relics From The Past, Ertlif... Plus, Hard Drive, and 52 more. , and , .

      €283.40 EUR or more (35% OFF)




Psychedelic hard-rock featuring the explosive fuzz-wah guitar of Peter Illingworth (ex-David John & The Mood).

Little Free Rock were an underground British power-trio which evolved from heavy-mod-psych band Purple Haze. In 1969, the band released their only album for the Transatlantic label. A rather disappointing effort for the band and their live fans, as the ultra-clean production did not show the real, powerful sound of the band.

“Nirvanating Nervesounds” collects previously unreleased sessions for an aborted Little Free Rock second album from 1971, produced by Robert Stigwood, plus tracks from their early incarnation as Purple Haze, taken from an ultra-rare demo acetate from 1969.

The ’71 tracks were recorded when the band had just incorporated an African percussionist to their line-up, “Lord” Eric Carboo. Also, ex-Killing Floor bass player John Taylor had replaced original member Frank Newbold. This new line-up shines on tracks like the terrific psych-funk sounding “Money On Your Mind”, full of drum breaks and frenzied wah-wah guitar.

The ’69 recordings are taken from the only known copy of a demo acetate recorded in 1969, when the band had just changed their name from Purple Haze to Little Free Rock. Featuring some songs which were later re-recorded and included on the Little Free Rock Transatlantic album but appearing here in a superior, raw-sounding form. This is a killer find for anyone into late 60s British mod-psych. A fuzzed-out power trio which will surprise anyone into obscure psych/freakbeat acts like Adam’s Recital, Five Day Rain, The Attack…

For many people, the recordings included here are the best thing Little Free Rock ever did and show how their first album should’ve really sounded.

Most of these tracks were previously released on CD under the “Time is of no consequence” name but they appear here in a newly remastered, superior sounding form, especially noticeable on the acetate tracks (no surface noise here this time!).

Remastered sound.

You can buy the vinyl version at:

release date: April, 15th. 2015

Issued under license from Peter Illingworth


released March 28, 2015


tags: rock Spain


all rights reserved


Guerssen Records Catalonia, Spain

Catalonia based reissue record label group, key name in the psychedelic, progressive and folk reissue field worldwide.

contact / help

Contact Guerssen Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code